Zzyzx

There’s a chain of bars in Korea (at least in Gwangju) called Zzyzx. The first time I saw it I was delighted. Being a native of southern California Zzyzx is a major landmark in the drive to Las Vegas.  In spite of the bizarre name inspiring a movie and an album (I think, if Wikipedia is to be trusted) I was surprised to learn how many people didn’t know what it was.  I understand my friends from England and New Zealand not know what it was, but I was shocked at how many Americans were clueless about it. Naturally I started an educational crusade.

This summer I visited home and decided that Vegas was the place to be. To me the drive is half the adventure. Wake up earlier than death so that you’re speeding across the desert at sunrise, and by brunch you’re sipping champagne poolside. Every time I do the Vegas run I always stop into Zzyzx for a post-apocalyptic photoshoot.

Here are my favorites from this visit:

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

